New attendee, no clue
Normal
Small
Posted by inches

Hi there. I'm trying to figure out how events work. I never got an email saying anything about events going live, and when I always looked there seemed to be no information about what was going on.

I stopped looking after a while assuming I'd get an email announcing information going live. 

So when poking around the site today I found that there's a ton of events up now but most are sold out? I didn't even realize there was a paid ticketing system and pre-registration for things like this.

Did I miss an email? Am I just new and only returners know about what's going on?

Normal
Small
Posted by selene314

I've been attending Gen Con for 10 years, and for most of that time I did not buy event tickets until July. Many events are sold out, but many others are not sold out!

To choose events, I recommend downloading the Excel file from http://www.gencon.com/experience/find . Then you can filter out sold-out events.

I believe the "Badge Registration is now OPEN!" and "Event Registration is now OPEN!" signs on the front page previously gave the dates when they would open. There's also a news feed on the left side with this link to sign up for their weekly newsletter.
Unfortunately, none of that appears on the mobile version. I'm guessing that's how you never saw it.

Here is how the ticketing system works:

You need a Gen Con badge to get into some areas and to buy event tickets. If you want to spend all day shopping and playing demos of games in the vendor hall, the badge is all you need.

Most events have event-specific tickets.
A tabletop game could easily be limited to 4 people, so it wouldn't make much sense to let 100+ people form a line to get in. Gen Con has you buy tickets in advance, and you cannot have tickets to two events with overlapping times.